FOTD: Into the Gloss-inspired Red Eyeshadow

Unlike many beauty nerds, I am neutral about Into the Gloss. I do not fawn over it, neither do I consider it the devil incarnate. To me, Into the Gloss is just another “rich girl lifestyle” publication. I do not find that lifestyle stiflingly aspirational, probably because I never aspired to it, and considered it a parallel universe. That said, Glossier makeup (not skincare) seems attractive to me, and the website has some inspiring articles. Including this old one about red eyeshadow! I feel like Into the Gloss shines most when it tries to popularize, umm, wearable versions of high-fashion looks.

Today I decided–one year too late, he he–to try the first look from the piece, the one where makeup artist Grace Ahn used Kat von D’s Raw Power single. I don’t have Raw Power, but Temptalia lists Zoeva’s Warm Notes (Cocoa Blend palette) as one of the dupes. Here’s the result, plus the steps outlined in the article:

IMG_1369

Blend out until the concentration is so slight, it almost looks taupe.

Well… whatever I have on my lids, is definitely NOT taupe!! More like the color of a beautiful ripe strawberry. I used a fluffy brush by Sugarpill to apply and blend, and then a clean blending brush by It Cosmetics to go over the edges.

Neutralize any redness under the eye.

Yeah, because this is supposed to be an office-friendly look, and most workplaces wouldn’t want their employees to resemble Helena from Orphan Black. (No shade thrown at those who love ghoulish gothic looks–I do them too sometimes!) Since my eyelid space is small, whenever I apply eyeshadow in broad, blendy motions, it piles up below the inner and outer corners. Redness in the outer corners is what makes me appear sickly, so I used loads of eye makeup remover on q-tips to make sure the corners were completely clean of red eyeshadow (and also, to fix the shape on my right eye, where I habitually overblend).

For the lower lashlines, Grace used MAC Omega, which is a brownish shadow without any hint of redness to it. I don’t own Omega, so I applied two browns that are kind of greenish: Matt Rosen and Matt Wood from Meet Matt(e) Nude by TheBalm. The highlighter in the inner corners is also a very light greenish gold: Subsolar from the Sleek Solstice palette. To get more of those “healthy! not sickly! not Helena in any way” vibes, I swished a bronzer onto my cheeks (Subtly Suntouched by Pixi).

Accentuate with Rosebud Salve on the lips.

Yes ma’am!

Here’s another pic of the full face. No filter! The cloudy San Francisco morning provided lighting that was positively angelic.

IMG_1371

 

2 thoughts on “FOTD: Into the Gloss-inspired Red Eyeshadow

  1. Cool, I think I will try a version of this with some shadows I have that are usually too red for me. I never though of using greenish-brown in the corners to complement it and cancel out the sickliness, but that makes perfect sense! Maybe I will also try some blueish shadow with the tangerine orange I have that I can’t wear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

